Read the small print

So I’m all set, my text books arrived and I’m here bright and early for the start of week 5 and I walk in the class room and the others who likewise are here bright and early say no, there’s no class today, Lauren is sick.  She sent an email last night.  Hmmmm, not so bright then!

At least I’m in good company.

And it’s an opportunity to write something.

I was thinking about shoes and following on from those rediculously high shoes that couldn’t possibly be worn for walking and how fashions have taken footwear to extremes.  I’m thinking of the Venetians and their chopines in the 15th – 17th centuries.  These are mind boggling – and yet a younger me in that day and age would have probably seized the challenge:

chopine

The image comes from an article in BuzzFeed about high heels, Click Here.

At the other extreme there is the binding of feet in China to create a fashionably small foot that was finally stopped in the 20th century, to read more about it Click Here.  Having grown up in a time when this was condemned it’s hard to imagine anyone doing this to their children, and yet it was practiced for over 1,000 years.  So, if I was born into an environment where this was expected, even deemed desirable, would I have happily submitted?  (Never a strong trait of mine, I hasten to add.)  Would you?

lotus-shoes-1

And to a degree this is carried on in the current desire for high heels, no matter how many articles are written about the damage that is done to your body, Click Here for one of them.  And let me say, I was right there in my younger years, wearing them with the best of them.  My back sincerely regrets it, and I can see that it would have been better not to go to such extremes, and yet I did.  We do.  We’re driven by desire rather than sense.  Why is that?  I know, it seemed like a good idea at the time . . . . .

And now there’s 3D printing and there’s some clever work being done by Neta Soreq, Click Here for more information

neta-soreq_shoe-design_dezeen_936_2

And even a flat pack shoe!!!!  Will they catch on? Click Here for the story.

flat-pack-shoes

I’m not intending to make high heeled shoes, even though I know that by doing so I’m ignoring a large (and lucrative) chunk of the market, but better people than me are filling that demand adequately.  I’d rather that my footwear didn’t cause harm – to the people that wear them, or in the process of making them.  That they assisted good walking habits.  That they were comfortable.  And of course infinitely desirable too.

2 thoughts on “Read the small print

  1. Conformity is a funny thing, and probably way more the thing to do when we were much younger than we are now. Possibly by the time you objected to your bound feet it would be too late. It also makes me think about the way we trot obediently off to have all how so called superfluous hair removed on a regular basis to satisfy a cultural aesthetic, and for that matter wear a bra. But on a brighter note I do like a bit of a heel with my shoes, I can’t do a totally flat shoe certainly not to walk any distance. Now just give me a nice pair of boots with a Cuban heel and we will be dancing

    Like

  2. i vote for a wonderful cool shoe for awesome mature women who have ouchy feet at times yet walk willingly and happily all day long! i’m enjoying your blog, naomi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

