Mules

Today we’re looking at Mules, a specific term for a slip on, backless style of shoes.  I’d tell you all about it except that I had to look it up and found the Womens Shoe Advisory blog and it does it so well I thought I’d leave it to them to explain all, so click on the name above and you will get to have a look at what they say.

We are drawing them.  Although the blog I’ve just mentioned swears and declares that mules shouldn’t have a heel currently that’s the majority of the mule market.  I was going to be stubborn and find a flat mule, but when I encountered this I realised it actually is a mule even though it is stretching the boundaries, what do you think?

black_mule

If you click on the image you will be transported to the photography site that took this great snap.  I was hoping it would be one of those 360 degree shots so I could rotate it and check it out from all angles but it’s a still.  I shall imagine the other angles I need to draw from the information in this shot.  I may well regret this in a minute – how am I meant to depict the crocodile (or similar) skin?  It would be interesting to know if it is a real crocodile or caiman hide or if it is a simulated effect.

Ha!  Found it, and there is a rotating 360 degree image too.  Click Here to check it out.  They are called black caiman but the devil is in the detail, it’s crocodile embossed leather.  I have felt a crocodile hide and that centre section that runs down the back is very thick and would be mighty difficult to work so I can understand not using the real stuff, but I’m still a little disappointed.

Leave a Reply

